Local Attractions

BMW Visitors Center

Greer Heritage Museum

Campbell's Covered Bridge

Gilreath's Mill

BMW Performance Driving School

BMW Charity Pro-Am

Shipwreck Cove Water Park

Suber Mill


Want to get up close and personal to one of the world's great automobiles?  How about taking a look at one before the engine is installed and the tires go on?  Or even before the chassis is painted?  All of that happens at the BMW plant tour a short drive from Greer's city center.

Extensive guided tours of the United States' only BMW manufacturing plant begin at the Zentrum Museum, which offers displays and multimedia presentations on the international automaker weekdays from 9:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m.  There is a fee for tours.  Admission to the Zentrum is free.

Visit the BMW website



Learn more about the history of the area at the Greer Heritage Museum located at 106 S. Main St. The museum offers exhibits that give visitors a glimpse at Greer's rich history, a library for historical and genealogical research, and a classroom/theater for showing short documentaries of local history.  Children will enjoy interactive displays scattered throughout the exhibits.

The Greer Heritage Museum is staffed by volunteer docents.  The Greer Heritage Museum is open from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. on Fridays and Saturdays.  Admission is free to the museum, although donations are always appreciated to help defray operational costs.

Visit the Greer Heritage Museum web page


Built in 1909, Campbell's Covered Bridge is the last extant covered bridge in South Carolina. It was named for Alexander Lafayette Campbell, who owned and operated a grist mill at the site for many years.

Measuring 35 feet long and 12 feet wide, it crosses Beaverdam Creek on Pleasant Hill Rd.  Major restoration was done on the bridge in 1966 and additional restoration was done in 1990 to preserve this excellent example of a four-span Howe truss, featuring diagonal timbers and vertical iron rods.  The bridge is closed to vehicle traffic, but pedestrians may cross and examine the structure.

Directions: Follow Highway 14 North (North Main St.) to Hwy 414.  Turn left and proceed to Pleasant Hill Rd.. Turn left onto Pleasant Hill Rd., then right onto Campbell's Covered Bridge Rd.



Located on Highway 101 North, Gilreath’s Mill is one of the few remaining mills in South Carolina that recalls the vital tradition of rural industry.

The mill is a two and one-half story frame building with a steep gable roof. Its construction date is unknown. Tradition dates it ca. 1814 but the first contemporary account of the mill is 1839. Other rooms on the present building include two gable-roof sheds attached to the north of the original section. The water wheel, separate from the mill, is southwest of the structure.

Production of cornmeal and flour was essential to the people living nearby and therefore to the economic structure of the area. An example of the production levels of the mill is found in the South Carolina Industrial Census of 1860. Owned at that time by John Heller, the mill produced 1750 pounds of cornmeal and 60 bushels of flour. Value of this annual yield was $1750 for the cornmeal and $420 for the flour. Cornmeal and flour were strong commodities on a statewide level. In 1882, for example, Gilreath’s Mill was one of 720 grist mills in South Carolina producing 22% of all manufactures, second only to cotton products. T

he mill was an integral part of the social and economic setting of the area. A means of procuring staple foods, Gilreath’s Mill was also a place where people could congregate. Listed in the National Register May 28, 1976.



BMW possesses such a profound belief in high-performance driving — and the driver's right to experience every heart-pounding moment of it — that the company invested $12 million to create the BMW Performance Center. 

The center is home of the BMW Performance Driving School Delivery Center and BMW Motorcycle Rider Training. Its staff equips attendees with the skills necessary to enjoy the ultimate driving experience time and time again. Thanks to its fleet of the latest BMW models, a team of BMW Driver Training Instructors and a challenging mix of low- and high-speed driving exercises, it will help you become a confident, safe and enthusiastic driver. 

Whether you've been driving for decades, have just received your learner's permit, or just out to push a vehicle to its limits, the different driving programs will help make you a safer, stronger and more confident driver. And while BMW ownership is not required, a passion for spirited driving is.



The BMW Charity Pro-Am, presented by SYNNEX Corporation, is the only tournament on the Nationwide Tour where amateurs and celebrities are grouped with Nationwide Tour professionals in a four-day better-ball competition over three courses.

Amateurs, celebrities and pros rotate between three courses on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, with the 14 lowest scoring pro-amateur/pro-celebrity teams advancing to play Sunday's final round at Thornblade Club. Celebrities play once at each course on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. 

The tournament has drawn rave reviews from such celebrities as Kevin Costner, Kurt Russell, Catherine Bell, Joe Pesci, Luke Wilson, Dennis Quaid, John Elway, Wayne Gretzky, and George Lopez.



A short drive from Greer lies the Shipwreck Cove Water Park, a family-friendly attraction for kids of all ages.  The pirate-themed park opened in 2009 in neighboring Duncan, SC.  With everything from exciting water slides to a peaceful lazy river, Shipwreck Cove provides a welcome break from the summer sun.

Visit the Shipwreck Cove website

Suber Mill

Suber’s Corn Mill is one of a handful of grist mills still operating in South Carolina. Located at 2002 Suber Mill Road in Greer, the mill rests on the slope of a hardwoods-covered hill.

Water from a holding pond above pours down a wooden chute and spills onto the paddles of a large vertical wheel, keeping it in a steady, rhythmic spin. Driven by a wheel, gears, pulleys and shafts turn slowly inside the wooden building. Shelled corn is fed into a chute on top and gravity sends it tumbling to the crushing millstones below. One floor down, the fine white powder emerges where it is bagged and stacked for sale.

The mill, constructed in 1908, is open weekdays from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. and Saturdays from 8 a.m. until noon.