Boards and Commissions

Construction Board of Adjustments & Appeals

Gregory Crusco

David Greer

Ralph Johnson

George McCall

William Rettew

Keith Smith


Buddy Waters


The Construction Board of Adjustments & Appeals is made up of five design professionals and two alternates, both of whom shall be in the construction industry.  It is the function of this board to hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions, or determinations made by the building official relative to the application and interpretation of the codes.  An application for appeal shall be based on a claim that the true intent of the code has been incorrectly interpreted, the provision of the code does not fully apply, or an equally good or better form of construction is proposed. The board shall have no authority to waive requirements of the code.

Board of Zoning Appeals

Allison Ringer

Glendora Massey

Tom McAbee

Robbie Septon

Lisa H. Lynn

Steve Griffin


Monica Y. Ragin


The Zoning Board of Appeals is a seven-member body whose powers and required findings are explicit in many instances.  However, the board’s power is limited to three specific areas: administrative review of decision of the zoning administrator; granting variances after a public hearing; and granting special exception after a public hearing.  Its purpose is to guide development in accordance with existing and future needs of the community, and to promote public health, safety, morals, convenience, order, prosperity and general welfare.

City of Greer Planning Commission

John Holland

Judy Jones

Mark Hopper

Micky Montgomery

Brian Martin

William Lavender


Suzanne Traenkle


The Planning Commission is a seven-member body that reviews and makes recommendations to Greer City Council concerning such requests as reviewing development plans in districts such as Planned Developments (PDs) for strict guidelines that are established, and granting final approval for subdivisions and other planning, zoning, and land development matters.  It also carries out a continuing planning program for the physical, social, and economic growth of the community.  The commission also considers amendments to the Zoning and Land Development Regulations, such as the Cluster Ordinance, provision for banners, and updating of Land Development Regulations (which include sidewalks and traffic impact studies for certain developments).

Board of Architectural Review

David Langley    Joada Hiatt    Brandon Price

Linda Wood         Marney Hannon 

This board, formerly known as the Historic Review Committee, protects, preserves, and enhances the distinctive architectural and cultural heritage of the city; to promote the educational, cultural, economic, and general welfare of the people of the city; to foster civic pride; to ensure harmonious, orderly, and efficient growth and development of the city; to strengthen the local economy; and to improve property values.

Greer Municipal Election Commission

Paul Lamb, Joe Baldwin and Ana Lucia Davis

This board is responsible for conducting the City of Greer Municipal Elections including overseeing the election day process, hearing election protests, and deciding provisional ballots.

Airport Environs Commission

(representing Greer)

Miles Nason and William A. (Andy) Burleigh

Members of this commission are appointed to serve two-year terms.  Their purpose is to protect and ensure the future growth and development of the Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, ensuring its ability to continue to serve the needs of the people and businesses within its service area.

Greer Housing Authority

Rick Danner

Harold Powers

Perry Dennis

Sarrell Strange

Flora Jones

Julie Barnes

Members of this commission serve as the governing officers of a public-corporate entity that functions as a developer and landlord of local low-income housing programs.  Their role is similar to that of the members of the board of directors of a private corporation.  Among their principal responsibilities are: providing leadership and advocacy for public housing; setting policies governing the operations of the public housing authority and charting the direction of current and future programs; ensuring (through independent reviews and audits) that the public housing authority operates within the law and according to HUD regulations, taking into consideration the economy and efficiency of operations; hiring a qualified executive director to manage day-to-day operations; obtaining and managing monies to support the authority; adopting operating budgets; and establishing policies to prevent fraud, abuse, mismanagement and discrimination, and to ensure that the public housing authority acts legally and with integrity in its daily operations.


Greer Recreation Board of Trustees

John Bohannon

Travis Ware

Amanda Hopper

Wayne Yount

Pamela G. Taylor

Charles Ryan


Marc Metcalf


Recreation Association Representatives

Anthony Solomon

Clay Jones

Randy Porter

Neil Waldrop
Cultural Arts

Shannon Hart

Wendy Campbell

Frederic David

Leanne Herman
Senior Citizens

The City of Greer Recreation Association Board of Trustees is comprised of members appointed by Greer City Council and representatives of the major programming committees.  Their primary purpose is to advise the Department of Parks and Recreation on programming issues and facility concerns.